Introverts and Extroverts in Literature

I am an introvert–that’s no secret to anyone who knows me. I’ve been realizing lately that many people (specifically people at my work) don’t really understand what that means or how it affects my actions. (And I’m not complaining about work here–it’s just an example. I actually really like the people I work with! And I’m not just saying this in case my employer stumbles across this). We do something called “professional development” at work each year, and where we research a topic and present it, and I was going to research the differences between introverts and extroverts and how we should best approach each and what expectations are realistic from each–both in adults and the preschoolers we work with. It would have been great–but it fell through, so that’s not going to happen this year. I’m still interested in it, though, and my interest has made me think about the introverts and extroverts we read and write about in books.

After the little research I’ve done I’ve noticed that there is a lot more about introverts than extroverts out there, and I’m curious about that. I guess introverts feel very misunderstood. They also think about things more, I guess, and tend to be writers. Most writers seem to write about introverted characters–at least to some degree on the spectrum. One fact about introverts is that they are more likely to have an inner monologue going on in their heads–which is what a book basically is, so it’s more natural to write about an introverted character.

Personally, I’d have a very hard time writing an extroverted main character. They would think so differently than I would! They’d have tons of friends–it’s so hard to write characters with lots of friends (at least for me). They’d like to be around people, they’d have conversations with everyone about everything. It would be so hard to pull off–and I’d love to be able to do it!

So–if you’ve read anything with extroverted characters I’d love to know so I can add it to my (huge) reading list. And here’s a great article I’ve read about introverts. How many people really don’t know their an introvert? That’s also hard for me to understand because it’s so obvious to me. I’d love to hear from you if you discover that you’re secretly an introvert–and I’d like to know why you thought you were an extrovert. (Now I’m determined to pull of a main character who’s an extrovert!)

2 thoughts on “Introverts and Extroverts in Literature

  1. Anon says:

    You might try reading “Emma” by Jane Austen. 🙂

Leave a Reply

