Writing Update

Today is the last day of November. I hope everyone out there who participated in NaNoWriMo met their goals. I don’t think I’ll ever do it. I honestly don’t think I’d have time. And I like to be productive in a small but steady stream. I get burnt out easily. For example two years ago I carved a very fancy pumpkin for a contest that took me like 6 hours straight of carving (and I did not win). Ever since I have not been very inspired to carve anything other than a happy face on a pumpkin since, and I do that reluctantly.

I also like to run outside, but when I start running almost every day in preparation for a race (which I also lose because I am very slow), I tend to have a huge fitness backslide afterwards.

I don’t want to have a huge backslide from writing, so I write a little before work if I get there early enough and through my lunch hour, and sometimes for a moment or two on the weekends, and until I get farther in my career and have deadlines looming over me, that is how I will continue to write because it works for me.

I actually really feel like I’m zooming through my current book. I’ve finished my first notebook already, and I feel like I’ve just started working on it. (I hand write everything first so I couldn’t begin to tell you how many words). It’s looking like it will be a longer book, and I’ll have a lot of rewriting to do once I finish the first draft. But right now I’m reveling in the joy of just writing my story.

Leave a Reply

