Physics of the Future: Controversial Baby-Making

What I’ve learned from reading Physics of the Future by Michio Kaku:

When we have a baby, and by “we” I mean other people and hopefully not me, we want our baby to be as perfect as possible. We certainly don’t want them to have a genetic defect that will make their life shorter and miserable.

And someday it may be possible to use gene therapy to make several embryos, have them analyzed, and then pick which one the parents actually want to carry to term.

I can see the controversy boiling up about this one. The pro-lifers wouldn’t stand for it. Those two other cells that could become humans deserve life too, right?

I don’t know. I’m not going to argue about it. It is an interesting idea, though, and it could solve a lot of health problems. I’d be interested to hear what other people think.

Leave a Reply

