Workout Playlist: 5/27-6/2

This week poses some challenges. I have been training for the Redlegs Run 10k, which is on the 2nd, and that has been going fine. I can run more than I’ve ever been able to, though it’d be nice if I could work up a little more speed at some point. I’m not sure when I’ll get my workouts in this week, though. This is the plan I’d like to follow:

Mon: workout playlist (same as past 2 weeks)

Tues: run after work

Wed: run after work (there’s no kettle bell class this week 😦 )

Thurs: workout playlist–arms and abs; mostly rest legs

Fri: rest and hydrate for race

Sat: run and have fun

Unfortunately some conflicts have come up. With Monday as Memorial Day I get the day off, but I’m not sure what I’ll be up to, so I and my roommate will be off our routines. Then Tuesday a birthday party/dinner has come up in the evening that could conflict with running. Thursday I probably won’t get to the playlist because I have a picnic right after work and then have to go back to work because I want to watch our kindergarten graduation, and who knows how long that will last. So I’ll do what I can. Wednesday seems okay at least, and maybe I can get some running in today or something.

Here’s the playlist I’d like to do on Thursday:

  1. Machine gun punches–“If You Think This Song Is About You…” D.R.U.G.S.
  2. Plank–“Race You to the Bottom” New Medicine
  3. Bi/Tricep curls–“My Best Theory” Jimmy Eat World
  4. Sit-ups: forward & sides (obliques)–“Greed” Patrick Stump
  5. Machine gun/push-ups–“Satellite” Rise Against
  6. Leg lifts–“Miss Murder” AFI
  7. Windmills w/weights*–“You’re Crashing but You’re No Wave” Fallout Boy
  8. Plank–“State of the Union” Rise Against
  9. Machine gun punches–“Na na na…” My Chemical Romance
  10. Cool Down–“Swing Life Away” Rise Against

*The Windmills are a kettle bell move, but I think they’ll work with regular weights–spread legs a little wider than shoulder width and turn one foot out and stand so that it is lined up with the middle of the forward facing foot. Face front. Hold weight up with arm above forward-facing foot and hold other weight down in front of sideways leg. Bend at the hip so abs/hips are working but legs stay fairly still, down arm moves down in front of leg and raised arm stays up. Do for 30 seconds then switch sides.

It’d be nice if I got to all this, but if I don’t, I don’t. Here’s to a great week!

Leave a Reply

