Sherlock Holmes: A Scandal in Bohemia (1)

Section 1 Summary: We are introduced to “the woman,” as Sherlock calls her. She’s the only woman who has ever won his respect and admiration (but definitely not love for Sherlock). Her real name is Irene Adler. Watson has been making his life as a married man, but when he drops by for a visit, Sherlock invites him to help out with a new case: helping the King of Bohemia keep Irene from ruining his upcoming marriage by revealing his affair with her.

Reaction: So Ms. Adler is not a prostitute-ish dominatrix in this one, but I’m still looking forward to meeting her. There doesn’t seem to be chapter breaks in this one, so I stopped at a line/scene break, which my dad always called a “stopping place” and so I do too. Sherlock is as cool as ever, and Watson is okay–I’m glad to see that he’s healthier. I can legitimately picture him as attractive now.

Why This Book Is a Classic: Bohemia? I know I’m revealing some ignorance on my part, but I never knew that was a real place. I thought it was a literature movement in New York with kind of hippie-like living, and then a great song in Rent about hippie-like living. So, classic, here’s to schooling me a little. Maybe I’ll even look up what real Bohemia is.

Detective Story Convention: Mysterious visitor comes asking for help. He had on a mask and everything, and it was pretty funny that Sherlock saw through it immediately–before he even said anything.

Leave a Reply

