Bleak House: “Jarndyce and Jarndyce”

Chapter 37: “Jarndyce and Jarndyce”

Summary: Richard comes to visit and has turned into a jerk. And he’s palling around with Skimpole for some reason. And he has a real sleazy lawyer, Vholes. All Richard cares about is getting to the end of Jarndyce and Jarndyce (what he really wants is to get his money).

Reaction: What a crappy chapter to have on my birthday–yes, today is my birthday, thank you, yes, I am having a great day. Oh, and I read this chapter yesterday, thank God. I’m liking Esther more and more little by little (people who are too good usually rub me the wrong way–in real life and literature, but Esther is winning me over. She’s had enough pages to do it, that’s for sure). She seems to be growing and is getting to be a much better judge of character. She doesn’t trust in her judgments very often yet, but I think she’s getting there.

Prediction: Will Ada ever give up on Richard? Who cares. I don’t like her. I hope Richard runs himself and Skimpole into the ground.

Why This Book Is a Classic: I’m skipping this section because it’s my birthday 🙂

Our Lesson: Be the Esther, not the Richard, and certainly don’t be the Skimpole.

Leave a Reply

