Bleak House: “Tom-All-Alone’s”

Chapter 16: “Tom-All-Alone’s”

Summary: My Lady is running all over the place. We see Jo again, who stays with all the bums in this rundown Tom-All-Alone’s place. A mysterious lady disguised as a servant has Jo show her every place the law writer had frequented. My Lady continues to be busy in London.

Reaction: Yay Jo is back! I like Jo. I’m not sure why. I guess I’m a sucker for cute, poor and ignorant kids–they are second only to a well-written villain. So, I enjoyed this chapter–and it was nice and mysterious too.

Prediction: I’m pretty sure My Lady was the mysterious woman. She’s hiding something, that’s for sure, and she was very curious about the death when she’d heard about it. Finally there’s mystery in this supposed mystery. Too bad the next chapter appears to be back to old Esther.

Why This Book Is a Classic: A Lady creeping around in disguise; the street urchin helping her out–I mean we’ve already seen disguises and helpful street urchins in Sherlock Holmes. That has to be an element of classic literature.

Our Lesson: If you’re going to disguise yourself and go creeping around the city, make sure to disguise your mannerisms as well. No one was convinced that the lady was a servant.

2 thoughts on “Bleak House: “Tom-All-Alone’s”

  1. Jillian ♣ says:

    I’ve started reading this book too! 🙂

  2. Yay! I was excited to see the challenge you’re doing. I’m going to follow it, and see what everyone else thinks. I’ve been feeling kind of alone in this one, so I’m glad I’m not anymore!

Leave a Reply

