War and Peace Saturday: Chapters 29-35

War and Peace! Yeah!

Sorry, I’m just trying to pump myself up a little.

Actually, I’m finding W&P easy to get through. It’s not hard to understand. I’m not finding it extremely compelling either, though. I don’t mind reading it each day, but I don’t look forward to it like I did with Hamlet and the first part of “A Study in Scarlet.” I do like the characters, though, and that’s really what’s important to me when I read a book.

This part of the book is about the soldiers/officers in the war. It’s certainly not a gritty war depiction. It kind of reminds me of the bit I read of Catch-22 (I wince at mentioning this book for the second time in a post this month)–where the characters are goofing off instead of doing their jobs. At the end of this section, though, we seem to be getting into more of a combat situation. There was definitely more chaos going on.

The characters of interest have been P. Andrew and Nick Rostov, who had both been sent off. Both seem to be fairly respectable men, and I’m glad they’re not the goof-offs. We also checked in on the drunk/gambler Dolokhov who is trying to be reinstated, but I don’t like him. There’s also Denisov, and all I know about him is that he has a speech impediment, so when he talks I keep picturing the minor character (Kripke) in The Big Bang Theory.

So I’ll keep plugging away at this. War and Peace! Yeah!

One thought on “War and Peace Saturday: Chapters 29-35

  1. Jillian ♣ says:

    Yeah!

Leave a Reply

