New Venture: The Classics Challenge

I have been very, very bad. According to my archives, I have not posted anything here since September. I have not really had anything I wanted to post since September, except maybe a comment about my recent fascination with road reflectors that show white going one way and red going to the other…anyway… I need to give myself a goal and a challenge and a worthy purpose to see any value in continuing, and on the 3 1/2 hour drive home from my parents this morning I had an idea.

As a creative writing major I had a lot of freedom in the types of English and literature classes I took. There were a few core requirements, but somehow I managed to get away with reading pretty much only modern literature. This was fun, but it meant that I have missed a lot of classics along the way. So starting this new year I’m giving myself a little challenge (because I don’t have enough to do with school and work and my own book and everything 🙂 …) I’m going to read the classics and keep track of my progress here. I’ve even made up some rules for myself:

  1. The book has to have been published before 1950
  2. I cannot have read the book before
  3. I will read a chapter a day (or a chapter-length portion for plays or short stories) at least 5 days of the week and post about that chapter at least 5 days a week

I’m still working on a list of books I’d like to do. I’m going to start with some Sherlock Holmes because I’ve always loved his character and I’m currently writing a sort of a mystery and because I just watched a lot of Sherlock Holmes over my Christmas break–I saw the movie and this great mini series thing from the BBC! I will read Hamlet and maybe Julius Caesar by Shakespeare because I somehow got away with not reading them up to this point. I’ve also never read any Jane Austin before. I’m interested in reading Bleak House by Dickens because I remember hearing all the lit. majors complaining so much about it. There’s also Crime and Punishment and War and Peace. You may be able to tell by now that I apparently like to torture myself. I don’t think at the pace I’m setting I could even finish this list I made off the top of my head this year, but it’s starting as a year-long challenge. I’ll see how it goes and try to be diligent.

Good luck to me and good luck to you with any challenges you’re setting for yourself!

2 thoughts on “New Venture: The Classics Challenge

  1. Jillian ♣ says:

    Oh my goodness, you MUST read Austen! I can’t wait to see what you think of her! I had never read her either until 2010, and since then I’ve read four of her books. I hope to read the other two, plus her juvenelia, in 2012.

    I’ll be reading some Dickens too, this year. Probably in February. Very best of luck exploring the classics! 😀

    Oh, I’m hosting a War and Peace readalong, if you want some company?

Leave a Reply

