Graduation Day

My brother Patrick just graduated from college last weekend. It’s that time of year. Even the K’s at my preschool have a little ceremony and get all dressed up. This is the time to celebrate, and who better to start the party than my screenplay’s socialite star, Gwen Hutcher-Kinny.

Gwen

Cheers to those who’ve accomplished something! You worked hard and now you’re done.

But are you?

If you really think about it, you’re just crossing a threshold and stepping into more work than ever. If you’re graduating middle school then you get to face the tougher classes of high school. If you’re graduating high school, then you have to get a job or have the even tougher classes of college coming up. And if you’re graduating college then you have a never-ending road of work ahead. Not only are you expected to work for a living now, but you’re also expected to get a good job with your degree, to make all that money you paid worth it. I’m sorry, but this silver cloud has a dark lining.

When I graduated high school, my parents, who are both doctors, expected me to go to college. They would have paid my way and everything. Though the idea of college sounds like a fun time, with frat parties and underage drinking and everything else that goes with the complete freedom of semi-adulthood, it’s really just a disguise that hides more school. I turned down their offer, even though it meant I was cut off from their money and shelter.

I don’t regret it.

I found jobs that took as little effort on my part as possible, like waitressing at a dive, tending bar at a club that looked like a bowling alley, and serving time as the clerk in the lingerie section of a department store. I got fired a bunch, but I was having fun, so who cares.

I still had to work, though, so I wasn’t having as much fun as I would have liked.

Some people may like working, but my ideal life is to do nothing all the time—like having a full time graduation party. Then I’d be celebrating breaking free from what has tied me down without ever having to face more work on the horizon!

Leave a Reply

