The Death of My Routine

I can’t remember—does summer mean my whole schedule goes out of whack?

(Okay, I know it’s not summer yet, but part of my mind has already entered “summer mode” and I’m already making some summer preparations.)

I’m usually easy-going with change. I like how my work activities are different each day, and I like thinking of new ways of doing things. I also like surprises (if they’re good, at least). But I don’t like when a routine I enjoy is disrupted by an activity I don’t like, such as when, a few days ago, I realized that I wouldn’t get my Saturday morning Wii Fit or jog or writing time or me time because I have to spend the whole day (whole weekend, actually) opening the pool. (Swimming = Fun, Pool Opening = Not Fun; no swimming this weekend because the water’s too cold and yucky from winter.)

I was stressed about this yesterday but am resigned to it today, and now that I’m past it hopefully tomorrow morning I can summon the energy and enthusiasm I’ll need to drag those chemicals across the lawn in what will most likely be a thunderstorm.

This won’t be my only disrupted weekend. Next weekend is shot, though by much more fun things: a day with a college friend and then a day with my brother, who’s about to graduate from college and move away. Then the next Saturday is his graduation. Also, at some point in the near future, me, my friend, and, minimally, her dad, will be planting the garden, and that takes a whole weekend too.

I think this is how summer works, but it’s still fun, and I’m really looking forward to it. I guess I’m ready for a change in routine. Hey—even my diet will be shaken up. Instead of eating the same grocery store-bought foods every day, I’ll be having the same garden grown foods every day! Change is wonderful!

One thought on “The Death of My Routine

  1. Jessie says:

    I know exactly how you feel– I love the overall feeling of the summer months with more freedom in my schedule, yet it always seems like freedom in my schedule means I am too busy to do the things I think I’ll do when I have more free time… I hope you don’t get stuck in a thunderstorm tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

