Villain Blog 1: Sam Kinny

As the title suggest, this blog topic concerns one of my favorite kinds of characters: the villain. A top-notch villain is not 2-dimensional. He or she thwarts the main character at every turn but intrigues the reader at the same time.

I am not the only one who loves a good villain. I noticed the other day that many of the preschool kids I teach prefer to play the part of the Big Bad Wolf in our Three Little Pigs puppet show.

Not all of my stories have a clear-cut villain. Also, in some cases, to introduce the villain would give away the ending, but for this topic I will give voice to my defined-from-the-start antagonists. The first will be Sam Kinny. In my manuscript, The Hollywood Effect, Valerie stars in a movie, and Sam is her character’s husband. WARNING: Sam uses some explicit language.

Sam

I would like to stress, first of all, that I am not a villain. Nothing is wrong with having money if you worked hard to get it, and I worked my ass off. I deserve the rewards I’ve earned.

The ones who should be branded as villains and criminals are the lazy people who live off the government or someone else and lie around all day with no plans, no ambition. My wife is an excellent example.

I know there are times when I come off in a bad light. I can lose control from time to time. But anyone who had to put up with Gwen on a daily basis would turn out the same, if not worse. I think it’s extremely charitable of me not to have put her out on the street a long time ago.

She’d probably be able to make a decent living on the street anyway, considering the amount of whoring around she does now. Hey—isn’t that a pretty villainous thing to do? Cheating on your spouse isn’t an admirable trait, that’s for sure. I don’t see why she’s the big star when here I am victimized at the same time I’m toiling away to support her.

Yes, I’ve cheated before too. That’s not the point. The point is—oh, who the fuck cares. I don’t have to prove anything to anyone, and I certainly don’t care what you think of me. I’m done with this shit.

Leave a Reply

